Nebraska Department of Transportation
Operating Instruction 20-05
January 5, 2024

TRAVEL
*** 1. Purpose: To provide policy for travel and the associated expenses. The office of
primary responsibility is the Controller Division. This DOT-OI supersedes
DOT-OI 20-05 dated May 20, 2022.

2. Meals, lodging, and telephone expenses:

A. Employee meal expense while on in-state or out-of-state travel status is paid on a
Per Diem basis. Meal per diem is established by the Department of Administrative
Services, based on a statewide analysis, at a rate of 70% of the Federal Per Diem
rate from the following website:
https://www.gsa.gov/travel/plan-book/per-diem-rates.

Statute 81-1174 and Travel Policy #5 of the State Accounting Manual
(https://das.nebraska.gov/accounting/manual.html#t5) requires expense claims to
be submitted within 60 days after the final day on which expenses were incurred,
or from the last day of the trip.

B. The first and last day of travel (including one day travel) will be prorated at 75% of
the State Per Diem Rate. Note that per the Department of Administrative Services
policy for multi-day travel, unless a meal is provided as cited in 2.C. below, all
meals are to be included in the Expense Reimbursement Form on the first and
last day irrespective of the start and stop times for those days. The first and last
day 75% adjustment is intended to reflect that employees may not typically be in a
travel status for all meals.

C. Any meal that is provided shall be excluded from the claim form so that it is
deducted from the daily Per diem Rate. Examples include:

(1) Meals included in Conference fee
(2) Meals provided by Hotel
(3) Meals purchased by 3rd Party

D. When in travel status for more than one day and an overnight stay is anticipated
within 60 miles of the person’s headquarters city, prior written justification and
approval by the Division Head or District Engineer is required. This approval is
contingent upon meeting at least one of the following criteria:
(1)  Work requirements
(2) Medical conditions

(3)  Weather conditions

(4) Benefit to the state

*** = Denotes changes made



Nebraska Department of Transportation
Operating Instruction 20-05
January 5, 2024

Any request for overnight stay within 60 miles that does not meet at least one of
the criteria must be approved by the appropriate Deputy Director. For example, a
one-day meeting that may extend beyond normal work hours may be eligible for
overnight stay at the discretion of the Deputy Director.

This request must also include the location where the employee desires to stay
and the dates of the anticipated stay.

A copy of this approved justification must be attached to the employee expense
reimbursement form.

E. Atthe agency head’s discretion, one-day travel meal expenses (breakfast and
dinner only) may be paid using State per diem rates when it is deemed necessary
for the working conditions of the employee.

(1) Breakfast - When an employee leaves for one-day travel at or before 0630
or 1 1/2 hours before the employee's shift begins, whichever is earlier,
breakfast rate may be paid.

(2) Lunch - Lunch for one-day travel is not paid.

(3) Dinner - When an employee returns from one-day travel at or after 1900 or
2 hours after the employee's shift ends, whichever is later, the evening
meal rate may be paid.

Meal expenses incurred in the city or town in which the residence or primary work
location of such employee is located, are not covered, except as discussed in
NDOT Ol 20-07 “NDOT Sponsored Conference and Meeting Food Expenses”.

F. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has taken the position that payment for meal
expenses incurred on one-day travel is taxable income to the employee unless
such payments are deemed "occasional”. In order to monitor this provision, all
such payments for one-day travel shall be coded to account 4717 (out-of-state
meals — one day travel) or 4719 (in-state meals — one day travel). When per diem
payments for meals for one-day travel exceed $200 per employee in any one year
(December 1 through November 30), the entire amount of such payments will be
considered taxable income. The payments will be added to the employee's gross
wages and payroll taxes will be withheld accordingly. Payment to one employee
for two or more employee's expenses will not be allowed for meals because of
this provision. (DAS Travel Expense Policy #9. Reimbursement to One Employee
for Two or More Employee's Expenses)

G. For both in-state and out-of-state travel, receipts are required for lodging
expenses which are not direct-billed to the department. Employees are
encouraged to be fiscally responsible with taxpayers’ money and select their
lodging accordingly. Commercial or government rates should always be
requested.
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H. Telephone expense: A long distance telephone call is an allowable state
expenditure if the call is related to state business, or the employee is traveling on
state business and the call is in accordance with the following.

(1)  The reason for the call is to respond to a call to the employee from
family/household members, or to inform family/household members of the
employee's safe arrival or change in travel plans, or to check on the well-
being of family/household members.

(2) Only one call to family/household members is allowed per day.

(3) Each call to family/household members is limited to $5.00 maximum
per call.

(4)  The person being called is a family/household member.

(5) Exceptions to (1) through (4) above require approval by a division/district
head.

3. Commercial travel (airlines, etc.):

A. Travel arrangements (with detailed supporting documentation) should be made by
the most economical method considering type of transportation, meals, lodging,
and salaried travel time.

B. Each individual required to perform official travel will:

(1) Determine the mode of authorized travel and make the required
reservations.

(2)  Arrange for his/her own ticket delivery with either payment being made
from personal funds, to be reimbursed by expense voucher, or advise the
travel agency to invoice the department.

(3) Immediately notify the Controller Division-Accounting Section at
(402) 479-4818 to stop payment if a travel reservation is cancelled.

C. Airline baggage charges for reimbursement will be a maximum of two bags each
way of travel. A baggage receipt is required for reimbursement.

4. Personal Vehicle Expense:

A. The use of personal vehicles while on official state business may be considered
when such use is beneficial to the department and the employee voluntarily
requests to use his/her personal vehicle. Prior authorization to use personal
vehicles must be obtained from a division/district head or his/her designated
representative. In the case of Division/District Heads, approval must be obtained
from his/her deputy.

*** = Denotes changes made -3-



Nebraska Department of Transportation
Operating Instruction 20-05
January 5, 2024

The reimbursement rate for the use of a personal vehicle while on official
business is the prevailing standard mileage rate established by the IRS. The
prevailing IRS mileage reimbursement rates for personal vehicle and motorcycle
can be referenced at the following Department of Administrative Services
Accounting Manual website: https://das.nebraska.gov/accounting/manual.htmI#t7.
In the Table of Contents, select M and click on Mileage-Personal Auto, or
Mileage- Personal Motorcycle to obtain the most current reimbursement rates.

If an employee uses his/her personal vehicle on official state business and an
accident occurs, his/her own insurance is primary coverage with the state's policy
providing excess coverage. It is the employee’s responsibility to ensure his/her
insurance company is aware that their vehicle is being used for business
purposes and the policy provides coverage. The reimbursement of mileage cost is
intended to include the cost to cover the insurance on the employee's vehicle.

If the employee's liability, as a result of the accident, is greater than his/her own
policy limits, the state's policy will apply to the remaining liability, including the
employee's deductible amount, if any. If an employee has an accident while using
his/her personal vehicle on official state business, the employee will report the
accident in the same manner as for state-owned vehicles.

b B. Stated in Statute 81-1174 Personal Vehicle License Number is required on an
expense reimbursement request, the Administrator of State Accounting does
allow agencies to make the decision whether the license plate number is included.
NDOT chooses to exercise that discretion and not require the license plate
number.

5. Out-of-State Travel:

A. Attendance at out-of-state meetings, conventions, workshops, seminars,
conferences, etc. may be required of department personnel. Out-of-state travel
may also be necessary for purposes other than meetings, in order to carry out the
day-to-day activities of the department.

B. Authorization:
(1) Prior authorization for out-of-state travel involving an overnight stay, or

commercial carrier is required by completing a NDOT Form 102, “Travel
Request Form". (See attachment #1.)

(a) Any out-of-state travel, which was specifically approved in the
Budget, requires a division/district head and Deputy or Director
approval.

(b) Any out-of-state (free) trips that will be paid by an outside entity

must be requested on the NDOT Form 102 and submitted to
the appropriate Deputy, or Director, for review and approval.

b (c) NDOT teammates bringing any individuals to accompany them
on business travel outside the State of NE should clearly
indicate so on the Employee Reimbursement form. For
Controller division to remain compliant, ensure accuracy while
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processing the reimbursement document, and for transparency
purposes, all expenditures relating to the NDOT teammate
should be clearly segregated on NDOT Form 102 and not
comingled with the external individual’s expenses
accompanying the teammate.

(2) If the out-of-state travel does not involve an overnight stay or commercial
carrier, a NDOT Form 102 is not required.

C. Forward the NDOT Form 102 to the Controller Division. More than one person
may be included on the NDOT Form 102 if the estimated travel expenses are
shown for each individual and totaled for the group.

Khalil Jaber
Deputy Director — Engineering

Form ndot102

Attachment #1 Example

*** = Denotes changes made -5-



Nebraska Department of Transportation

Travel Request Form

Date:

[] Approved Budgeted Trip
L] Substitute for Approved Budgeted Trip
D New — Not Budgeted Trip

Place: Dates of Travel:
Purpose:

To Be Attended By:

Division:

Was This Meeting Attended Last Year:

[1 Yes [ No
Employee Name(s) Requesting Approval:
Estimated Expenses:
Travel: Amount
Originating City: Final Destination: Carrier(s):
Cost Per Ticket:
$ X (# of Employees) $ 0.00
Personal Vehicle Mileage: miles @ $.655 per mile $ 0.00
Lodging:
Cost Per Day:
$ X (# of Days) $ 0.00
$ X (# of Days) $ 0.00
Meals:
Cost Per Day:
$ X (# of Days) $ 0.00
$ X (# of Days) $ 0.00
Miscellaneous: (taxi, parking, etc.)
Amount: $ $ 0.00
Amount: $ $ 0.00
Amount: $ $ 0.00
Total Travel Expense > $ 0.00
Conference Registration:
Cost Per Person:
$ X (# of Employees) $ 0.00
Total Cost of Trip = | 0.00

Remarks: (List special travel or lodging arrangements made to reduce costs)

Approved By:

Division Head or District Engineer: Deputy:

Director:

NDOT Form 102, January 2023

After completion, submit to Controller Division Accounting with Expense Reimbursement.
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VEHICLE AND AIRCRAFT USE

xe 1. Purpose: To provide policy for vehicle usage. The office of primary responsibility
(OPR) is the Operations Division. This DOT-OI supersedes DOT-OI 20-06 dated
March 10, 2021.

2. Employees may use department vehicles whenever transportation is required for
official business. Only persons on official state business are allowed to operate or
ride in department vehicles.

3. State Aircraft: Requesting parties must complete a NDOT Form 126 (Request for Air
Transportation) and submit that form to their respective Deputy Director for signed
approval.

Submit the approved NDOT Form 126 to Operations Division who can assist with
coordination of the flight with the Aeronautics Division as needed. Operations
Division will forward the NDOT Form 126 to the Controller Division who retains the
form for payment processing.

4. Unless permission is granted by the Director, or by the District Engineers by the
authority granted to them by the Director, department vehicles will not be driven to or
from home. Vehicles not returned nightly to a department parking area will be parked
in a safe place and locked.

5. Divisions/districts will strive to reduce mileage and conserve fuel by consolidating
trips, and keeping state-owned vehicles well maintained.

6. Itis the responsibility of the employee to notify their Division Head or District
Engineer and submit a NDOT Form 380 to Human Resources within three working
days of the occurrence of any moving violation when a citation is issued to them
while operating a state-owned vehicle. It is also the responsibility of the employee to
promptly pay a traffic violation unless the violation is being contested. Should the
violation be contested, the employee must notify their Division Head or District
Engineer. Citations for faulty equipment are the responsibility of the Department and
the employee shall promptly report a faulty equipment citation to their Division Head
or District Engineer.

7. Operators of motor pool vehicles are responsible for detecting the first signs of faulty
operation and reporting them to a district mechanic or Operations Fleet Management.
Vehicles in need of repair will be parked until cleared for operation by competent
authority. Operators are also responsible for the vehicle's appearance, general
condition and fueling when returning vehicle to the motor pool. The oil level will be
checked each time fuel is added. This responsibility does not end until the vehicle
has been returned to its assigned location.
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8. NDOT Central Headquarters employees requesting a vehicle for temporary basis or
trip will use the following procedure:

Employee will fill out a NDOT Form 170 electronically (part 1) and email the form to
“‘NDOT Motor Pool.” Staff with NDOT Motor Pool will assign a vehicle to employee,
notify the employee and NDOT security desk of vehicle assignment. Employee may
then pick up the keys to their assigned vehicle at NDOT security desk located at the
front entrance of Central Headquarters. Employee is required to document the
mileage vehicle is driven and report it on NDOT Form 170 (part 2) upon return of
vehicle. Upon return of vehicle to its assigned parking stall, keys will be dropped off
with NDOT security desk personnel and the completed NDOT Form 170 with trip
mileage will be sent to the NDOT Motor Pool email address. Employee is required to
report daily the equipment number of vehicle, mileage driven each day, and
corresponding activity code into their KRONOS Activity Entry/Passport Activity Entry.
If any problems or issues occurred with the vehicle while in use, the employee shall
note this also in part 2 of the completed NDOT Form 170 before sending the form
back to NDOT Motor Pool. Employees should send the request two days in advance,
if possible, to ensure vehicles are available for checkout. Requests made at the last
minute may not be easily accommodated.

9. Vehicle operators are responsible for recording accurate odometer/hour-meter
readings at the time of fueling. Fuel for state vehicles should be obtained at state
facilities whenever practical. In Lincoln, fuel shall be obtained at state facilities during
business hours.

When using a state vehicle, a state credit card may be used to purchase fuel and
minor repairs when it is impossible or impractical to obtain them from state facilities.

Voyager credit cards may be used at most major oil companies. A list of these
companies may be obtained through the Operations Fuel Manager. Operators
should always ask the attendant whether the Voyager credit card is acceptable prior
to making a purchase. Operators using credit cards other than Voyager must provide
a receipt and explanation that must be approved by the Division Head/District
Engineer prior to forwarding to Controller Division for payment. All fuel receipts shall
be returned to the Operations Fuel Manager.

10. Operators returning from a trip prior to 5:00 p.m. will immediately park and lock
vehicle in its assigned stall, check-in vehicle to the motor pool and return key to
NDOT security desk. Operators returning after 5:00 p.m. will park the vehicle in the
assigned stall in the parking lot, lock the vehicle, and check-in the vehicle by
8:30 a.m. the next morning.

** 11. Operators of permanently assigned vehicles are responsible for the servicing and
maintenance of those vehicles as instructed by the Operations Division and districts.
Employee is required to report daily the equipment number of vehicle, mileage
driven each day, and corresponding activity code into their KRONOS Activity Entry
or Passport Activity Entry.

12. The use of portable radar detectors is prohibited in state-owned motor vehicles.
Further, operators of state-owned motor vehicles will not wear portable-radio
headphones. The latter also pertains to operators of motorgraders, tractors, forklifts,
riding-type mowers, etc.

-2
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13. Use of smoking products and devices, including but not limited to, cigarettes, cigars,
pipes, and electronic cigarettes, is not allowed in any state-owned or leased vehicles
and equipment with enclosed cabs.

14. Occupant Restraints (seat and shoulder belts) will be used by all occupants of
Agency motor vehicles (licensed to operate on public roads) and Agency equipment
(like loaders and tractors) when such restraints are available, as provided in Human
Resources Policies and Procedures Chapter 6, Section 6.5, “Vehicle Safety."
Accidents involving state vehicles (and private vehicles being used on official state
business) will be reported in accordance with Nebraska statutes.

Moe Jamshidi, P.E.
Deputy Director — Operations

Attachment or example
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- - Aircraft: Flight No.: Name of Filct:
Request for Air Transportation

Division or Section Originating Flight: Date of Request: Individual in Charge of Flight:

FLIGHT From: To: To: To: To:

ROUTE
Depart on or About: Take-Off Time: Return On/Or About: (Date) Landing Time:

PASSENGER LIST _ DEPARTED TIVE ARRIVED TIME TOTAL
Project No. Unit No. A.F.E. Other Act. FROM AT

Destination:

Purpose:

Name:

Destination:

Purpose:

Name:

Destination:

Purpose:

Name:

Destination:

Purpose:

Name:

Destination:

Purpose:

Name:

Destination:
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NDOT SPONSORED CONFERENCE AND MEETING FOOD EXPENSES

*** 1.  Purpose: To provide policy to standardize and control the food expenses associated
with the Department of Transportation’s sponsored meetings and conferences. The
office of primary responsibility is the Controller Division. This DOT-OI supersedes
DOT-OI 20-07 dated March 1, 2021.

2. Meal Allowances for NDOT Sponsored Conferences:

A

*k%k C

*k*k

E.

NDOT sponsored conferences include, but are not limited to: Maintenance
Conference, Project Managers Conference, and Management Retreat.

Pre-approval, from either Controller Division Accounting Manager or the
Finance Administrator, is required for all food that will be provided at a NDOT
sponsored event. The pre-approval requirements are:

(1) Agenda with start and stop times, approved by the appropriate deputy;
(2) Total estimated number of attendees;

(3) Listing of meals to be served with estimated attendees at each meal;
(4) Estimated itemized cost breakdown.

Meals will be provided for all attendees, even if an employee is not in travel
status. Per Administrative Services guidelines, “Employees required to attend
official functions, conferences, or hearings within the city or town in which the
residence or primary work location...may be reimbursed in accordance with
policies established.”

Meal allowances for conferences will use, as a guideline, the limitation
established for travel. See DOT-OI 20-05.

Meals for non-NDOT persons attending NDOT sponsored conferences may be
paid for by NDOT if sufficient money is collected from such persons to cover
the cost of any meals that may be provided. Funds received will be recorded
as revenue for the conference and will not reduce the total conference
expenditures.

Reference DOT-OI 20-05 for further travel policies.

3. Food Allowance for Meeting Expenses:

A

Food may be provided for state employees for one day meetings, up to a
maximum as defined in Section D. This maximum includes the cost of food
and tableware. An eligible meeting must:

(1) Be an official function hosted by the Department of Transportation.
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(2) Not part of a normal workday function. Examples include stand-down
day, safety meetings, etc.

(3) Food is provided to ensure continued participation for the meeting.
(4) Must have an agenda.
(5) Must have a sign-in sheet for all attendees.

B. Pre-approval is required for all food that will be provided at a NDOT sponsored
event. Receive approval from the appropriate District Engineer or Division
Head, or Human Resources if for Employee Recognition.

C. Al requests for reimbursements must include the following:

(1) Copy of pre-approval from District Engineer, Division Head or Human
Resources

(2) ltemized/detailed receipts for all allowable expenditures
(3) Sign-in sheet for all attendees, except retirement dinner
(4) Agenda

D. The maximum for a one-day event (meetings lasting 5 or more hours) is
$12 per person per event. The maximum for meetings lasting less than
5 hours is $3 per person per event. This maximum includes cost of all food,
beverages, tableware, taxes, tips, and associated fees. Tips will not exceed
20%. Tableware is defined as disposable plates/bowls, knives, forks, spoons,
cups, napkins, and table covers. Only items as listed will be reimbursable
expenses. No serving items (large bowls, platters, roasters, etc.) are covered.

E. Costs exceeding these established limits will not be reimbursed and will be the
personal responsibility of the Division Head or District Engineer.

4. Employee Recognition Program Food Requests:

hl A. Reference the “Employee Recognition Program” for guidelines on food
policies. This information can be located at:
https://dotspot.nebraska.gov/divisions/human-resources/services/employee-
recognition-program/.

5. Other Food Requests:

A.  All other requests for food are at the discretion of the Director. All requests for
reimbursements must include a copy of the pre-approval from the Director.

Kk Khalil Jaber
Deputy Director - Engineering
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